fast track ultra - can't get second headphone port working.
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: fast track ultra - can't get second headphone port working.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default fast track ultra - can't get second headphone port working.

    I'm using reaper and I read somewhere that the 2nd headphone port has a different output mix of 3/4?

    Is this correct and how do I get it to work the same as port 1.

    Jay

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    bump***

    I can't figure it out!!!

  3. #3
    Jared is offline Tech Support, Community Mgr, Customer Advocate
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Irwindale, CA
    Posts
    16,488

    Default

    On the monitor 3/4 tab of the Fast Track Ultra control panel, turn up the software return channels 1/2.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Its all greyed out on the knobs for 3/4

    **EDIT
    Silly me just read that the power supply must be in for 2 headphone ports
    Last edited by jayendra; 02-12-2010 at 01:56 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default

    same here boss

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    4,631

    Default

    You must have the unit plugged into wall power and you must be using a USB 2 port.
    CLICK HERE USB FAQ
    CLICK HERE BEFORE POSTING Help us help you. Post system specs and detailed information
    CLICK HERE to Contact Technical Support - Technical Help, Registration/Licensing Issues, Repairs

    CLICK HERE for
    M-Audio Knowledge Base - FAQs, guides, and tutorials


    Admins/Moderators will not respond to private requests for technical assistance.
    I'm not M-Audio tech support. I'm a user just like you and I'll try to help. If you solve a problem please post what worked for you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hope it's not too late to answer your question but in Reaper on the master track you have to click on the little i/o button and add a hardware output I think it is. From the drop down box it'll will be something like Fast Track Ultra 3 and 4. Hope that helps!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    174

    Default

    There are multiple ways to achieve what you want is part of why this thread is so confusing.

    Out of the box. on the ftu digital return 1 and 2 are r and l of headphone one and 3 and 4 ar R and L of headphone 2.

    but it doesn't have to be that way.

    If you want the same mix in both headphones then you can modify the controls for 3/4 so that digital return 1/2 are up and digital return 3/4 are not used.

    regardless of how you route it to enable outputs 3/4 and 5/6 you need to have the ftu plugged into power when it's turned on.
    Computer Make/Model: Lenovo T61p
    Operating System: Debian GNU/Linux and alsa patches for M-Audio FTU
    Processor: Intel(R) core2 duo
    RAM: 8G
    Ardour(DAW), JACK, audacity, vpkb
    M-Audio Fast Track Ultra. K5000s, behringer truth monitors. K90 Piano

Similar Threads

  1. Fast Track Ultra headphone output not stereo
    By jayboy in forum USB Audio Series
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 12-12-2011, 05:00 PM
  2. Fast Track Ultra w/Very Low (or Zero) Headphone Output Volume
    By Thom Harris in forum USB Audio Series
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 05:58 AM
  3. Fast Track Ultra - 2nd Headphone Output Won't Work
    By STARVING_ARTIST in forum USB Audio Series
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-02-2010, 07:51 PM
  4. Fast track Ultra 8r, headphone problems.
    By Sfalsetto in forum USB Audio Series
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-12-2010, 02:08 PM
  5. Fast Track Ultra problem: no headphone output?
    By rytaddress in forum USB Audio Series
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-29-2009, 06:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •