ASIO4all with WIndows 7 and 2626
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: ASIO4all with WIndows 7 and 2626

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    66

    Default ASIO4all with WIndows 7 and 2626

    I see a few recomendations for using asio4all with windows 7 and a Profire 2626. I have downloaded asio4all and I am ready to give it a shot, but is there anything I need to know first? DO I need to uninstall M Audio's drivers first?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,499

    Default

    I might have missed some forum posts, so I maybe far off.. But ASIO4ALL is more for giving ASIO like performance for non-Asio sound devices. I would imagine that you'd be better served using the ASIO driver from M-Audio. ASIO4ALL takes a WDM driver and essentially bypasses some of the Windows sound system to try and give lower latency. It does (in my experience) need the manufacturer driver installed to work. I've used it with several USB and crappy on-board sound cards to get a usable solution.

    Joel

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Belfast
    Posts
    47

    Default

    hey dude,

    I am a BIG asio4all fan, it saved a lot of headscratchin!

    Download the latest m-audio driver and install, then download asio4all, when u go into ur DAW select the Asio4all driver, this is just the M-Audio driver that u already have but now it will 'work'!.
    Intel® Core 2 Quad Q9400
    8GB DDR3 Ram
    Windows 7 64-BIT
    Firewire 800 Texas Instruments ChipSet
    Cubase Studio 5
    Pro tools M-Powered 8
    M-Audio Profire 2626

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Joel is correct. I think some people don't really understand what ASIO4ALL is really all about, BUT if it works for you, and you are happy... go for it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    34

    Default

    So we can use Profire in Windows 7 64? With Pro Tools?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Belfast
    Posts
    47

    Default

    can't see why not dude.
    Intel® Core 2 Quad Q9400
    8GB DDR3 Ram
    Windows 7 64-BIT
    Firewire 800 Texas Instruments ChipSet
    Cubase Studio 5
    Pro tools M-Powered 8
    M-Audio Profire 2626

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Okay, now I get to join in.

    I am trying to get a stand-alone soft synth to output audio as if it were a hardware synth. I am playing around with the new propellerhead daw, Record. It doesn't accept VSTs. I want to open record, then open a stand-alone OR a VST in a host program like Ensemble Pro (Vienna Instruments) which in essence makes the VST like a hardware synth. Then record the out-going audio into record.
    My hardware synths, guitars, and voice all work fine. But, fire up the soft synth and it says that the sound card is already in use and won't play.

    Will ASIO4ALL solve this, somehow? Or, can I get another 2626 or 610 and run them together? I just want to be able to play a VST into the audio-in on record.

    Does this make sense?

    Thanks for any assist.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Joel's answer is best to the point. All ASIO4ALL does is provide the hardware driver side hooks, for software that is ASIO compliant. If a hardware driver already provides an ASIO interface, it should not be necessary at all... and PROBABLY is actually inferior to the REAL ASIO driver (assuming it works correctly, that is!)

Similar Threads

  1. Which asio4all is suitable for fast track USB ?
    By DR_XERO in forum USB Audio Series
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-28-2010, 12:49 PM
  2. Latency and getting ASIO4ALL to work
    By davemcconk in forum Keyboards, Control Surfaces, & Enigma
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-11-2010, 01:37 PM
  3. Profire 2626 and windows 7
    By Galen labree in forum FireWire Series
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 03:51 PM
  4. Fast track USB Pro and ASIO4ALL
    By rborc415 in forum USB Audio Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-12-2009, 08:08 AM
  5. newb Q, FL Studio 8 asio4all v2 issue
    By hngsolo in forum General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-25-2009, 01:46 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •