Firewire 410 will not install on Windows 7 64 bit
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Firewire 410 will not install on Windows 7 64 bit

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    15

    Default Firewire 410 will not install on Windows 7 64 bit

    I have an HP Pavilion dv5 with a SYBA SD-EXPC34-2F 2-ports FireWire 1394a ExpressCard with the TI chipset. I have spent a few hours wrestling with trying to get my system to see the FW410. I have installed the 64 bit driver off the website. I am using the external power source since express card is not supposed to be able to supply enough bus power. When I run the Firewire Device Enabler it repeatedly tells me there is no device. I am hoping someone who has had success with connecting the FW410 to a laptop via expresscard firewire can help point me in the right direction. The 410 works great on my 5 yr old iBook btw so it is not a problem with that.
    Thanks in advance
    roger

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,685

    Default

    Could you try uninstalling the Windows 7 x64 drivers you got from Syba, and try letting windows 7 install drivers automatically?

    There are many cases where that solves the problems.
    Core 2 Quad Q9400-Scythe Ninja Rev A|MSI Neo P45|WD 150GB Raptor|WD 250gb SATA-I|8GB G-Skill DDR2|WD Blue 640GB SATA-II|Logitech KB|Apple Mighty Mouse|ATI HD4850 512MB-Accelero S1|M-Audio 2x Delta 1010|Delta 66 Omni I/O|Corsair 400W|Cooler Master Elite 330
    Dual Boot: Ubuntu 10.04 x64 Lucid/Windows 7 Home Premium x64
    Adobe Audition Mac & PC, Logic Pro, Ardour, PT 9, Reaper x86 & x64, Ableton Live Lite
    2x Delta 1010, 2x Delta 66, AP2496, FW Solo, Pulsar II, ProFire 2626, Fast Track C400

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Thanks for the reply. The card goes right into Win 7 . I do not install any drivers. It shows up in device manager. Unfortunately the only firewire device I have is the Firewire 410 so I cant really test the card unless the FW410 is installed . Kind of a catch-22

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,499

    Default

    Is the 410 showing up in Device Manager? Is the Syba showing in Device Manager without any problems?

    Can you try changing to the legacy firewire driver: http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=...995b2752f6ffe2

    Joel

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    15

    Default

    The 410 does not show up in Devmgr. The syba card does show up. I did try switching to legacy driver to no avail. Really stumped on this. I want to use it with the dv5 because it has so much more power than the ibook but doesnt look like its meant to be

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,499

    Default

    Hmm, odd that the 410 works fine on the old mac.. Can you try the firewire adapter in the mac (or another laptop) then see if the 410 is detected? I'm curious if the Syba is DOA..

    Joel

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    15

    Default

    so I have tried uninstalling the maudio driver. I have set the fw card to legacy .
    going to reinstall the driver. Each time I do this though the control panel says there is no firewire device attached. I am getting a slow blue blink on the 410 if that tells you anything helpful. SHould I use the Firewire Enabler? I have used it with no luck. Does anyone have the steps that they followed if they got the 410 to work with Win7 64?
    Frustrating........

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,499

    Default

    I believe the blinking light means the 410 is getting power, but is not communicating with the PC (either PC or 410 prob). Did you try the Syba with the Mac? Or do you have another firewire device you can test with the Syba? Still wondering if it might be a DOA firewire adapter...

    Joel

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joelg View Post
    I believe the blinking light means the 410 is getting power, but is not communicating with the PC (either PC or 410 prob). Did you try the Syba with the Mac? Or do you have another firewire device you can test with the Syba? Still wondering if it might be a DOA firewire adapter...

    Joel
    I cant use the card with the mac as it has no pc card slots . iBooks only have usb and firewire.
    The card is good as I do have an external firewire drive that i connected to it and it works.
    It must be an issue with the m-audio drivers and windows 7 64 bit because the 410 works perfectly on the iBook. I think I am about to give up and just buy a usb interface so I can use Mixcraft on the Windows laptop because all this time spent t-shooting could be spent working on projects.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,685

    Default

    Does the DV5 have a firewire port on it (whatever manufacturer) that you could test out to see if it just works?
    Core 2 Quad Q9400-Scythe Ninja Rev A|MSI Neo P45|WD 150GB Raptor|WD 250gb SATA-I|8GB G-Skill DDR2|WD Blue 640GB SATA-II|Logitech KB|Apple Mighty Mouse|ATI HD4850 512MB-Accelero S1|M-Audio 2x Delta 1010|Delta 66 Omni I/O|Corsair 400W|Cooler Master Elite 330
    Dual Boot: Ubuntu 10.04 x64 Lucid/Windows 7 Home Premium x64
    Adobe Audition Mac & PC, Logic Pro, Ardour, PT 9, Reaper x86 & x64, Ableton Live Lite
    2x Delta 1010, 2x Delta 66, AP2496, FW Solo, Pulsar II, ProFire 2626, Fast Track C400

Similar Threads

  1. How to Install on Windows 7
    By guitarbutt in forum USB Audio Series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-03-2010, 02:37 PM
  2. Windows XP Cannot Install This Hardware
    By wtnind in forum Delta Series
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 11-04-2009, 09:21 AM
  3. Cannot install KeyStudio 49i on Windows XP
    By matcolo in forum Keyboards, Control Surfaces, & Enigma
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-20-2009, 09:32 AM
  4. I can't install FireWire 410. HELP!!!!!
    By djcandle in forum FireWire Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-23-2009, 04:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •