TBIA error code, crackling noise with pro tools
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: TBIA error code, crackling noise with pro tools

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default TBIA error code, crackling noise with pro tools

    I've had my fast track pro for a while now and all was fine and no conflicts with my old recording software. Since picking up a version of pro tools m-powered and updating the the m-audio drivers I now get a TBIA error everytime I boot the pc up and I get continuous crackling noise on my audio tracks in pro tools.
    Any idea what the problem might be?

    I'm using windows xp sp3
    1.8g, 1G ram laptop.
    fast track pro, pro tools m powered...

  2. #2
    Jared is offline Tech Support, Community Mgr, Customer Advocate
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Irwindale, CA
    Posts
    16,488

    Default

    We have received reports from some users experiencing the TBIA error and it's currently under investigation. For now you can go to Start>Run>msconfig>Services tab and disable any M-Audio Services and that should prevent the error.

    As far as the crackling, that can be caused by a variety of things. Try increasing the buffer size. Have you disabled your on board sound card?

  3. #3

    Default

    Did you work this out? - I am getting a TBIA popup box on booting my PC, with the message

    "kErrorShell_NotifyIconNIM_SETVERSION"

    I am having problems with my FastTrack Ultra not connecting a lot of the time - running XP SP2. Tech Support is dealing with it, but throught I'd mention this and ask if its related..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default same problem !

    I´ve got the same problem with Fast Track Pro.
    When I boot up my System (Vista 32 bits SP1), a PopUp with "TBIA - Zugriff verweigert" (German, means "denied access") appears.
    I´ve connected an USB HUB (it is recognized without problems), and I tested it on every USB port of my notebook: same problem.
    I also tried deinstalling FTP drivers, reboot, and installing them again, but seems not to work.... please help us !
    regards,
    Ernesto / Germany

    Notebook HP Compaq Presario CQ60-301EG
    Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP1
    Athlon 64 X2 QL-64 2x 2.10GHz with 2x 2048MB RAM
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 8200M (IGP)
    M-Audio Fast Track Pro
    Roland HP-102E / Yamaha DX7-II

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sierra Madre, CA
    Posts
    11,806

    Default

    The problem can be fixed by 1 of 2 methods. You can turn off the User Account Control in Vista or you can disable the M-Audio Taskbar Icon application.

    To Turn off the User Account Control:
    1) Go to the Windows Control panel and select classic view.
    2) Click on User Accounts and then select Turn User Account Control On or Off
    3) Un-check the box and click OK; the computer will then restart.


    To Disable the Taskbar Icon
    1) Hold down the function key and press the letter R. This should bring up the Run Menu.
    2) Type "msconfig" and then click OK.
    3) Click on the Startup tab and then Un-Select the M-Audio Taskbar Icon
    4) Click Apply and OK and then restart the computer. When the computer is restarting it will prompt you to go back to default settings. Do not go back to default settings.
    5) Once the Taskbar Icon is gone, you will need to launch the M-Audio preferences from the Windows Control panel.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default

    thanks Paul for your suggestion. I will test it.
    regards,
    Ernesto / Germany

    Notebook HP Compaq Presario CQ60-301EG
    Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP1
    Athlon 64 X2 QL-64 2x 2.10GHz with 2x 2048MB RAM
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 8200M (IGP)
    M-Audio Fast Track Pro
    Roland HP-102E / Yamaha DX7-II

  7. #7

    Default Possible Solution

    I had the same problem with vista, in my case asio also wasn't working.

    Plugging the inferface in directly to the pc (instead of connecting throug my usb hub) solved the problem.

  8. #8

    Default

    hi m-audio fasttraxxx
    i have had this device for about 2 months now and i havent installed or changed anything on my laptop, now im getting the same error. this is very frustrating everytime i boot up i get this error.
    i have a brand new laptop running windows 7 is there a software update now available or something please help ''''

    running an acer- aspire5738
    4.1 windows experience
    intelrcore(TM)2 duoCPU T6600 @2.20ghz 2.20
    memory 4gb
    64bit operating system
    touch input screen
    --------
    i do not run through a hub it goes straight to laptop
    Last edited by BLUE/GRAY; 01-23-2010 at 02:55 PM. Reason: adding more info

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I also had the TBIA error after boot up on XP pro SP3. I used the repair function of the installer (5.10.0.5134). At least the few times I rebooted after doing the repair the error was gone. But in the Event Viewer I still have this M-Audio related error:

    Event Type: Error
    Event Source: Service Control Manager
    Event Category: None
    Event ID: 7000
    Date: 1/24/2010
    Time: 17:30:15
    User: N/A
    Description:
    The M-Audio Series II MIDI Installer service failed to start due to the following error:
    The system cannot find the file specified.
    FastTrack Pro on Shuttle SN25P/ AMD 64 4400X2 / 2GB / fully updated XP Pro SP3

Similar Threads

  1. Pro tools Recording Studio Error CODE 7
    By Christinasmyers in forum USB Audio Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-29-2010, 01:27 PM
  2. Problems after resolving TBIA Error for Audiophile USB
    By diggerjunior in forum USB Audio Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-16-2010, 05:20 PM
  3. Installing Axiom Pro 61 drivers and I keep getting a TBIA error?
    By microstudio in forum Keyboards, Control Surfaces, & Enigma
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-16-2010, 12:08 PM
  4. TBIA access denied error in VISTA
    By julizam in forum USB Audio Series
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 07-28-2009, 05:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •