Can't get midi to play bak through Venom
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Can't get midi to play bak through Venom

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Gothenburg, Ma.
    Posts
    61

    Default Can't get midi to play bak through Venom

    I'm so far a happy new owner of an Maudio Venom. However, that said my first day with it was a bit problematic. I installed the latest driver and ran the firmware updater, got it working with the editor then fired up Ableton Live and using Venom as both an interface and instrument and the external instrument device on a midi track recorded a nice bass part in a clip....then couldn't get the clip to play back through the Venom.....spending the rest of the afternoon spinning my wheels trying to figure what the issue was and finally giving up after trying every possible option on the track in Live. I had everything set up correctly in the Live Preferences with the Venom midi track options on....I could play in the notes...just couldn't route them back out to hear it back. There was no track levels on playback.

    So assuming that all I need do is use the usb cable midi and audio is there an example explanation or video or post that will show me how to do this?
    Oh I also use Pro Tools 8 LE can I also just use a usb cable to do this or do I have to use the audio outputs and a midi cable due to the fact that my 002R is proprietary to the software?
    Thanks!
    Mac Pro Quad Xeon 2.66Ghz. 9GB RAM
    Snow Leopard 10.6.8/Pro Tools LE 8.0.5
    Ableton Live 8.3
    M-Audio Radium 61 controller
    M-Audio Midisport 8x8
    M-Audio Venom

  2. #2
    Jared is offline Tech Support, Community Mgr, Customer Advocate
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Irwindale, CA
    Posts
    16,488

    Default

    In Live's MIDI preferences, make sure Track is also turned ON for the Venom's MIDI output. This should allow you to route your MIDI tracks back to Venom. You will then need an audio track setup to record the audio from Venom.

    The Venom will work as a USB MIDI Controller with Pro Tools LE, but in order to record Venom's audio in PTLE you will need to record Venom's output through your 002R.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Gothenburg, Ma.
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Jared

    Thanks with your help I've got it all set up thank you!
    Mac Pro Quad Xeon 2.66Ghz. 9GB RAM
    Snow Leopard 10.6.8/Pro Tools LE 8.0.5
    Ableton Live 8.3
    M-Audio Radium 61 controller
    M-Audio Midisport 8x8
    M-Audio Venom

Similar Threads

  1. Venom and irig Midi..
    By iamtall in forum Venom
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 10:44 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-26-2011, 04:22 PM
  3. Will piano roll notes in DAW play on Venom?
    By GODZILLA! in forum Venom
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-25-2011, 12:48 PM
  4. Midi to USB cable with venom?
    By darkflow in forum Venom
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-12-2011, 02:37 PM
  5. [Venom] midi assign need help
    By digital sequency in forum Venom
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-20-2011, 12:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •